, view bag
Zbinden  Jf  Quatuor No 2  Qc17

Julien-François Zbinden

Quatuor No. 2 op. 108

for string quartet

QC17 Score and parts - CHF42.00 (Print)

  • Level: intermediate / advanced
  • Duration: 29'
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Composed: 2011
Julien-François Zbinden

Julien-François Zbinden (1917-2021)

Julien-François Zbinden was born on November 11th, 1917 in Rolle (Vaud/Switzerland). After having studied piano, with secondary studies in voice and violin, he began in 1938 his musical career as a... Read more

About Quatuor No. 2

The 25 minute work consists of four very diverse and contrasting movements.

The first – Lento - Allegro - opens with a slow and mysterious introduction followed by a joyful rhythmic episode, while the second – Scherzando molto vivo – is simply virtuosic game-playing, with the four bows flying around freely. 

The third – Adagio – is very dramatic, slowly evolving into a mood of meditation and tenderness.

The last movement – Allegrissimo – is an homage to contrapuntal style and requires great virtuosity on the part of the performers.

Choose your language






Get our Newsletter
© 2024 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.

Follow us