, view bag
Winkelman Helena Gemini Vn40B

Helena Winkelman

Gemini Concerto

11 short scenes in three movements

for 2 violins and orchestra

VN40b Orchestra score - CHF78.00 (Print)

  • Level: advanced
  • Duration: 40'
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Series: Swiss Composers Series
  • Composed: 2020
Helena Winkelman

Helena Winkelman (*1974)

Helena Winkelman (b. 1974) is a Swiss composer and violinist. She showed an exceptional musical talent very early. Having won national and international violin competitions at a young age, she has ... Read more

About Gemini Concerto

This double concerto for two violins and orchestra is dedicated to the most diverse aspects of togetherness in eleven miniatures. Humorous, thoroughly extra-musically motivated modes of relationship effortlessly lead the musical material into border areas of technique and expression.

Both soloists are assigned a percussionist as a second, who also moves with them through the space (of the staged piece). The choice of percussion instruments emphasizes the respective character of the very different solo violin parts.

The orchestra is sometimes a resonating space, sometimes a screen, sometimes a commentator and sometimes a motor.

In "horsing around" there is a great duo cadenza and then fragments of folk music from three countries (Finland, Moldavia and Switzerland) follow each other and overlap in a daring quodlibet - this too is a tribute to the soloists Patricia Kopatchinskaya and Pekka Kuusiisto.

Choose your language






Get our Newsletter
© 2024 Editions Bim & The Brass Press. All rights reserved.

Follow us