, view bag
Vivaldi Bach Concerto D minor BWV 596 tuba quartet TU222


Antonio Vivaldi, Johann Sebastian Bach
Concerto in D minor BWV 596

for euphonium / tuba quartet

  • Arranger: Michael Forbes
  • Level: intermediate / advanced
  • Duration: 11'
  • Genre: baroque
  • Composed: 1711/1713

Reference: TU222
Score and parts


  • Instrumentation:

    euphonium parts in bass & treble clef

  • Published: 2024
  • Pages: 60
  • Publisher: The Brass Press
  • Movements:
    • I. Toccata-Grave (1'30)
    • II. Fugue (3'10)
    • III. Largo (3')
    • IV. Allegro (3')

Audio samples

I. Allegro - Grave
II. Fuga
III. Largo
IV. Allegro


Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

About Concerto in D minor

The Concerto in D minor, BWV 596, is a notable work in the repertoire of Johann Sebastian Bach. It is a transcription of Antonio Vivaldi’s Concerto for Strings in G minor, RV 156. Bach, known for his exceptional skills in adaptation and arrangement, took Vivaldi’s original composition and transformed it into a concerto for organ.

The transcription process was a common practice during the Baroque era, where composers frequently adapted and rearranged works by their contemporaries or predecessors. In the case of BWV 596, Bach not only transcribed the original work but added his own artistic touches.

In this publication, Michael Forbes takes Bach’s organ transcription and adapts it to the euphonium/tuba quartet. Brass ensembles have the advantage of being able to easily imitate the sound of the organ in its various registers.


February 23, 2025 | Ljubljana Festival International Competition - Brass quartets & quintets | Ljuljana, Slovenia. .