, view bag


20% discount on all orders until August 31, 2024

Forbes Michael Textures Tu164

Michael Forbes

for 6 euphoniums and 6 tubas

  • Level: intermediate / advanced
  • Duration: 18'
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Composed: 1996

Reference: TU164
Score and parts


  • Published: 2017
  • Publisher: Editions Bim
  • Movements:
    • 1. Transparent (5')
    • 2. Translucent (8')
    • 3. Opaque (5')


Michael Forbes

Michael Forbes (*1973)

Michael Forbes (born 1973 in Morgantown, West Virginia, USA), studied first with Mark Lusk and Marty Erickson (Bachelor’s Degree at Penn State University), then with tubist and composer, John Steve... Read more

About Textures

The work

Textures is a symphony in three movements that explores differing levels of thickness in scoring and harmonic timbre.

The first movement,Transparent, explores pentatonic harmonies, with intense multi-meter hocket and even a fugal structure. Rhythmic motives that permeate the entire work are introduced here.  Translucent, slow and meditative, has a cloudy texture with its diatonic and modal character. The last movement, Opaque, opens with a recapitulation of the previous harmonic textures before exploring its more busy rhythmic, chromatic texture. The movement also recalls the various themes from previous movements before driving home its own theme followed by a rhythmic, bombastic finale.