, view bag
Forbes Michael Sonatina Tu205A

Michael Forbes

for tuba and piano

  • Level: intermediate / advanced
  • Duration: 9'30
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Composed: 2018

Reference: TU205a


  • Published: 2018
  • Pages: 27
  • Publisher: Editions Bim
  • Movements:
    • I. Allegro leggiero (3'45)
    • II. Largo con molto rubato (2'15)
    • III. Allegro ma non troppo (3'30)

Audio samples

I. Allegro leggiero
II. Largo
III. Allegro


Michael Forbes

Michael Forbes (*1973)

Michael Forbes (born 1973 in Morgantown, West Virginia, USA), studied first with Mark Lusk and Marty Erickson (Bachelor’s Degree at Penn State University), then with tubist and composer, John Steve... Read more

About Sonatina

melodic versatility and extended harmony

The truly unique aspect of the work is how it "fits" the idiomatic elements of the tuba so well. The sonata-allegro first movement showcases the nimble fingers of the player and includes a cadenza, while the second movement is a hauntingly expressive chaconne. The third and final movement has mixed meter and boasts jocular melodies in a rondo form.