, view bag
Michel Jean Francois Emeraude Tb85

Jean-François Michel

for trombone quartet

  • Level: intermediate / advanced
  • Duration: 5'
  • Genre: contemporary
  • Composed: 2013

Reference: TB85
Score and parts


  • Instrumentation:

    3 tenor trombones, bass-trombone

  • Publisher: Editions Bim


Jean-François Michel

Jean-François Michel (*1957)

Jean-François Michel, born in Switzerland in 1957 into a family of musicians, studied from 1965 to 1976 at the Fribourg Conservatoire in (Switzerland). In 1975 he was awarded the Bronze Medal at th... Read more

About Emeraude

Introducing each performer one by one

The first part includes a succession of heroic motifs, introducing each performer one by one in succession as they proceed from backstage to onstage. Once they have all arrived in their normal stage positions, what follows is a spectacular Allegro vivo with subtle dissonances which enhance the virtuosity and precise ensemble playing of the 4 trombonists. It ends with a bacchanal apotheosis, which serves as a final “adieu” to the audience.